FIFA World Cup Winners List, Year of Event and List of Host Countries: (1930-2018)

FIFA World Cup Winners List

The Federation Internationale Football Association, or FIFA, organizes the Football World Cup every 04 years. It is an international football competition played by men’s national teams from 32 countries. The current winner of this tournament is France winning the FIFA World Cup 2018 held in Russia.

Quick Info About FIFA World Cup:

  • Organizer: Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)
  • Headquarters: in Switzerland.
  • The establishment: 1930
  • Total Team: 32 (currently)
  • Current winner: France (2018)
  • Most successful team: Brazil (5 titles)

History of FIFA World Cup:

The tournament, which was played every 4 years, started in 1930. In the first edition of the year 1930, the host country Uruguay won the first FIFA World Cup title by defeating Argentina 4–2. The tournament could not be held in the years 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. From 1934 to 1978, 16 teams participated in this tournament. But in 1938 and 1950, 15 and 13 teams participated respectively. In 1982, the number of participating teams was increased to 24. Whereas in 1998, 32 teams were allowed to play in the tournament.

Since the year 1930 (2018), FIFA World Cup tournament has been held 20 times. Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup the most 5 times and is the only team to participate in every tournament. Italy (4), Germany (4), Argentina (2) and Uruguay (2) have won this title. Argentina, Uruguay, England and Spain have won this title once. At the same time, the Netherlands has failed to win the title by making it to the final three times.

Most Watched Sports Events:

The World Cup is one of the world’s most widely watched sporting events, with an estimated 71,51,00,000 people watching the final match of the 2006 FIFA World Cup held in Germany.

Information about FIFA World Cup 2018:

The 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup 2018 was held in Russia from 14 June to 15 July. In the year 2018, 32 teams participated in this tournament lasting 31 days. The French team defeated Croatia 4–2 in the final match played at the Lujinhki Stadium in Moscow on 15 July to clinch the FIFA World Cup 2018 title. France won the World Cup title for the second time in football history. Earlier, he became the first champion in 1998. France has now become the third country to win two World Cups after Uruguay and Argentina. In this tournament (2018)

  • Thiabout Cortuis of Belgium received the Golden Gloves Award.
  • England captain Harry Kane received the Golden Boot Award.(06 goals.)
  • Croatia’s captain Luka Modric became the winner of the Golden Ball.
  • France’s Kaylin Mabapay win FIFA Young Player of the World Cup title

List of FIFA World Cup Winners (1930-2018)

Uruguay ArgentinaUruguay1930
Italy CzechoslovakiaItaly1934
Canceled (World War 2) 1942
Canceled (World War 2)1946
Uruguay BrazilBrazil1950
West GermanyHungarySwitzerland1954
Brazil SwedenSweden1958
Brazil CzechoslovakiaChile1962
England West GermanyEngland1966
Brazil ItalyMexico1970
West Germany NetherlandsWest Germany1974
Argentina NetherlandsArgentina1978
Italy West GermanySpain1982
Argentina West GermanyMexico1986
West Germany ArgentinaItaly1990
Brazil ItalyUnited States1994
France BrazilFrance1998
Brazil GermanySouth Korea, Japan2002
Italy FranceGermany2006
Spain NetherlandsSouth Africa2010
Germany ArgentinaBrazil2014
France CroatiaRussia2018
? ?Qatar (Scheduled)2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here