History, Rules And List of ICC ODI World Cup Winners

List of ICC ODI World Cup Winners

ICC ODI World Cup Winners: International One Day Cricket Also called ODI cricket or limited overs match. In this, each team bowls 50 overs and bats 50 overs. Earlier it was 60 overs. It ends in a day. World Cup competitions are held in this format. In which all ICC member countries participate.

History of International One Day Cricket:

The international one-day game developed in the late twentieth century. The first ODI was played between Australia and England on 5 January 1971 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. When the first three days of the third Test match were washed out due to rain, the officials decided to end the match and instead it was decided to play 40 ODI matches per team with six balls per over. Australia won this match by 5 wickets.

Rules of International One Day Cricket:

The rules of cricket in the main format apply. However, in a one-day international, each team only bats for a limited number of overs. In the early days of ODI cricket, the number of overs per team was usually 60, but now it has been uniformly limited to 50 overs.

The Rules of ODI Cricket Are as Follows:

  • One Day matches are played between 2 teams with 11 players per team.
  • The captain who wins the toss opts for batting or bowling (fielding).
  • The team batting first determines the target in the first innings. The innings lasts until the batting side is “out of all players” (that is, when 10 out of 11 batsmen are out) or all of the first team’s allotted fifty overs are completed.
  • Each bowler can bowl up to a maximum of 10 overs (less than that in rain interrupted matches and generally in any case one-fifth or 20% of the total overs per innings).
  • The team batting in the second innings tries to score more than the prescribed run number to win the match. Similarly, the team bowling in the second innings tries to dismiss the opposition team for less than the prescribed run number to win the match.
  • If all the wickets of the team batting in the second innings fall or all its overs are over and the number of runs scored by both teams is equal, then the game Is tie (regardless of the number of wickets lost by any team) ) Is declared.
  • In the event if the number of overs decrease, for example due to inclement weather, the number of overs may be reduced. If for some reason the number of overs played by the team batting in the second innings is different from the team batting in the first innings, the result can be determined by the Duckworth – Lewis method.
  • The lights are illuminated in such a way that it does not obstruct the fielding team and the captains are allowed to keep cloth on the field in case the ball gets wet.

Men’s ICC ODI World Cup Winners List:

1975West indiesAustralia17 runsEngland8
1979West indiesEngland92 runsEngland8
1983IndiaWest indies43 runsEngland12
1987AustraliaEngland7 runsInd/Pak8
1992PakistanEngland22 runsAust/NZ9
1996Sri LankaAustralia7 wicketsInd/Pak /Sri12
1999AustraliaPakistan8 wicketsEngland12
2003AustraliaIndia125 runsSouth Africa14
2007AustraliaSri Lanka53 runsWest indies16
2011IndiaSri Lanka6 wicketsInd/ Sri/Ban16
2015AustraliaNew Zealand7 wicketsAus/ NZ14
2019EnglandNew ZealandSuper overEngland10
2023 ? ??India

Women’s One Day Cricket World Cup Winner List:

1982AustraliaEngland3 wicketsNew Zealand
1988AustraliaEngland8 WicketsAustralia
1993EnglandNew Zealand67 runsEngland
1997AustraliaNew Zealand5 wicketsIndia
2000New ZealandAustralia4 runsNew Zealand
2005AustraliaIndia98 runsSouth Africa
2009EnglandNew Zealand4 wicketsAustralia
2013AustraliaWest Indies114 runsIndia
2020EnglandIndia85 runsAustralia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here