List of ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Winners (1988-2022)

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Winners

U19 Cricket World Cup Winners: The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament, the competition is played between the under-19 teams of 16 countries of the world, which is organized by the ICC every two years. It was organized for the first time in 1988 as Youth World Cup. Only eight teams participated in the first edition of the tournament.

Information About The Under-19 Cricket World Cup:

  • Administrator: International Cricket Council
  • Competition Pattern: 50 overs
  • Year of Establishment: 1988
  • Most Successful Team: India (5 times)
  • Most Runs: Eoin Morgan (606 runs)
  • Most Wickets: Moises Henriques and Greg Thompson (27 wickets)

ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup 2020:

The 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup was an international limited-overs tournament which was Played in South Africa from 17 January to 9 February 2020. It was the 13th edition of the Under-19 Cricket World Cup, and the second to be held in South Africa. Sixteen teams took part in the tournament, divided into four groups. The top two teams from each group advanced to the Super League, with the bottom two teams in each group advancing to the Plate League. India was the defending winner.

Which Team has Won the under-19 Cricket World Cup Title the Most Number of Times?

The Indian cricket team has lifted the under-19 Cricket World Cup trophy 4 times. Team India is the team to win this title the most times. India has won the title under the captaincy of,

  • Muhammad Kaif (2002)
  • Virat Kohli (2008)
  • Unmukt Chand (2012)
  • Prithvi Shaw (2018)
  • Yash Dhull (2022)

Australia’s team has lifted this trophy 3 times. Australia won the Under-19 World Cup titles three-time under the leadership of,

  • Mackenzie Harvey (1988)
  • Cameron White (2002)
  • Mitch Marsh (2010).

Pakistan has won this competition twice under the captaincy of

  • Khali Latif (2004)
  • Sarfraz Ahmad (2006)

England, South Africa, and West Indies once each.

Who Won the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2020?

Bangladesh has won the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2020 title held in New Zealand. In the first Super League semi-final, India defeated Pakistan by ten wickets to advance to the finals, with Yashasvi Jaiswal scoring an unbeaten century. In the second Super League semi-final, Bangladesh beat New Zealand by six wickets, with Mahmudul Hasan Joy scoring a century. The third-place playoff match between Pakistan and New Zealand was abandoned without bowling due to rain. So Pakistan finished third after scoring more points than New Zealand in the group stage of the tournament.

In the final, India batted first and scored 177 runs. Due to the interruption of rain, Bangladesh set a revised target of 170 runs in 46 overs, which was followed by 42.1 overs, according to the DLS methodology. Bangladesh won the tournament by defeating India by three wickets. This was Bangladesh’s first win at the ICC event at any level.

Who Won the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2022?

The Indian team has won the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2022. India beat England in the final.

India’s young stalwarts did wonders in the Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2022. The Indian team defeated England by 4 wickets in the title match on Saturday to capture the tournament title for the fifth time. India had got a target of 190 runs, which they achieved with 14 balls to spare for the loss of 6 wickets. As India won the trophy under the leadership of Yash Dhul, congratulations poured in.

Indian players are being praised a lot. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is also very happy with the performance of the players and has opened its treasury. BCCI has announced a cash reward for the players and support staff. While each player will be given Rs 40 lakh, each member of the support staff will get Rs 25 lakh. This information was tweeted by BCCI Secretary Jay Shah.

At the same time, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly tweeted, ‘Congratulations to the U-19 team, support staff and selectors for winning the World Cup in such a wonderful way. The announcement of cash prize of 40 lakhs by us is a small gift to encourage the players, but their efforts are invaluable…

When did Team India Become the Champion?

India first won the Under-19 World Cup title in the year 2000, in which Mohammad Kaif took charge of the team. After this Team India won the trophy in 2008 under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. At the same time, in 2012, under the leadership of Unmukt Chand, captured the title. The Indian team became champions in 2018 under the leadership of Prithvi Shot and now Yash Dhul has won the trophy for the fifth time.

Let’s know about the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup’s organizing year, venue, winners and runners-up countries.

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Winners (1988-2020)

1998EnglandNew ZealandSouth Africa
2000IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2002AustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand
2004PakistanWest IndiesBangladesh
2006PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
2008IndiaSouth AfricaMalaysia
2010AustraliaPakistanNew zealand
2014South AfricaPakistanUAE
2016West IndiesIndiaBangladesh
2018IndiaAustraliaNew Zealand
2020BangladeshIndiaSouth Africa
2022IndiaEnglandWest Indies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here